Food and Drug Regulations (C.R.C., c. 870)

Regulations are current to 2016-08-15 and last amended on 2016-06-14. Previous Versions

  •  (1) The following definitions apply in this section and in section B.01.010.3.

    food allergen

    food allergen means any protein from any of the following foods, or any modified protein, including any protein fraction, that is derived from any of the following foods:

    • (a) almonds, Brazil nuts, cashews, hazelnuts, macadamia nuts, pecans, pine nuts, pistachios or walnuts;

    • (b) peanuts;

    • (c) sesame seeds;

    • (d) wheat or triticale;

    • (e) eggs;

    • (f) milk;

    • (g) soybeans;

    • (h) crustaceans;

    • (i) shellfish;

    • (j) fish; or

    • (k) mustard seeds. (allergène alimentaire)

    gluten

    gluten means

    • (a) any gluten protein from the grain of any of the following cereals or from the grain of a hybridized strain that is created from at least one of the following cereals:

    • (b) any modified gluten protein, including any gluten protein fraction, that is derived from the grain of any of the cereals referred to in paragraph (a) or from the grain of a hybridized strain referred to in that paragraph. (gluten)

  • (2) If a food allergen or gluten is present in a prepackaged product, the source of the food allergen or gluten, as the case may be, must be shown on the label of the product in

    • (a) the list of ingredients; or

    • (b) in a statement entitled “Contains” that complies with the requirements of subsection B.01.010.3(1).

  • (3) Subsection (2) does not apply to a food allergen or gluten that is present in a prepackaged product as a result of cross-contamination.

  • (4) Subsection (2) does not apply to a to a food allergen or gluten that is present in a prepackaged product referred to in paragraphs B.01.008(2)(a) to (e) unless a list of ingredients is shown on the product’s label.

  • (5) Subsection (2) does not apply to a food allergen or gluten that is present in a prepackaged product for which a standard is prescribed by section B.02.130 or B.02.131 unless a list of ingredients is shown on the product’s label.

  • (6) The source of a food allergen required to be shown under subsection (2) must be shown

    • (a) for a food allergen from a food referred to in one of paragraphs (a), (b) and (e) of the definition food allergen in subsection (1) or derived from that food, by the name of the food as shown in the applicable paragraph, expressed in the singular or plural;

    • (b) for a food allergen from the food referred to in paragraph (c) of the definition food allergen in subsection (1) or derived from that food, by the name “sesame”, “sesame seed” or “sesame seeds”;

    • (c) for a food allergen from a food referred to in one of paragraphs (d) and (f) of the definition food allergen in subsection (1) or derived from that food, by the name of the food as shown in the applicable paragraph;

    • (d) for a food allergen from the food referred to in paragraph (g) of the definition food allergen in subsection (1) or derived from that food, by the name “soy”, “soya”, “soybean” or “soybeans”;

    • (e) for a food allergen from a food referred to in one of paragraphs (h) to (j) of the definition food allergen in subsection (1) or derived from that food, by the common name of the food referred to in column II of item 6, 23 or 24 of the table to paragraph B.01.010(3)(a), whichever is applicable; and

    • (f) for a food allergen from the food referred to in paragraph (k) of the definition food allergen in subsection (1) or derived from that food, by the name “mustard”, “mustard seed” or “mustard seeds”.

  • (7) The source of gluten required to be shown under subsection (2) must be shown

    • (a) for gluten from the grain of a cereal referred to in one of subparagraphs (a)(i) to (v) of the definition gluten in subsection (1) or derived from that grain, by the name of the cereal as shown in the applicable subparagraph; and

    • (b) for gluten from the grain of a hybridized strain created from one or more of the cereals referred to in subparagraphs (a)(i) to (v) of the definition gluten in subsection (1) or derived from that grain, by the names of the cereals as shown in the applicable subparagraphs.

  • (8) For the purpose of paragraph (2)(a), the source of the food allergen or gluten must be shown in the list of ingredients, in parentheses, as follows:

    • (a) immediately after the ingredient that is shown in that list, if the food allergen or gluten

      • (i) is that ingredient,

      • (ii) is present in that ingredient, but is not a component of or present in a component of that ingredient, or

      • (iii) is, or is present in, a component of that ingredient and the component is not shown in the list of ingredients; or

    • (b) immediately after the component that is shown in the list of ingredients, if the food allergen or gluten is that component or is present in that component.

  • (9) Despite subsection (2), the source of the food allergen or gluten must be shown on the label of the product in the “Contains” statement if the food allergen or gluten

    • (a) is, or is present in, an ingredient that is not shown in the list of ingredients, but is not a component of that ingredient or present in a component of that ingredient; or

    • (b) is, or is present in, a component and neither the component nor the ingredient in which it is present is shown in the list of ingredients.

  • (10) Despite subsection (8), the source of the food allergen or gluten is not required to be shown in parentheses immediately after the ingredient or component, as the case may be, if the source of the food allergen or gluten appears

    • (a) in the list of ingredients

      • (i) as part of the common name of the ingredient or component, or

      • (ii) in parentheses, under subsection (8), immediately after another ingredient or component; or

    • (b) in the “Contains” statement.

  • (11) For greater certainty, nothing in subsection (8) affects how an ingredient or component may be shown in the list of ingredients under paragraph B.01.010(3)(b).

  • SOR/2011-28, s. 4.
  •  (1) In this section and in section B.01.010.3, sulphites means one or more food additives that are listed exclusively in column I of item 21 of the table to paragraph B.01.010(3)(b) and are present in a prepackaged product.

  • (2) For greater certainty, the definition sulphites in subsection (1) includes only sulphites that are present in the prepackaged product as a result of being added.

  • (3) If sulphites are present in a prepackaged product in a total amount of 10 parts per million or more and none are required to be shown in the list of ingredients under section B.01.008 or B.01.009, the sulphites must be shown on the label of the product in

    • (a) the list of ingredients; or

    • (b) a statement entitled “Contains” that complies with the requirements of subsection B.01.010.3(1).

  • (4) Subsection (3) does not apply to sulphites present in the prepackaged products referred to in paragraphs B.01.008(2)(a) to (e) unless a list of ingredients is shown on the product’s label.

  • (5) Subsection (3) does not apply to sulphites present in a prepackaged product for which a standard is prescribed by section B.02.130 or B.02.131 unless a list of ingredients is shown on the product’s label.

  • (6) Sulphites that are shown on a label of the product under subsection (3) must be shown as follows:

    • (a) if the sulphites are shown in the list of ingredients,

      • (i) by one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents”, or

      • (ii) individually by the applicable name set out in column I of item 21 of the table to paragraph B.01.010(3)(b), except that the name “sodium dithionite”, “sulphur dioxide” or “sulphurous acid” must be followed, in parentheses, by one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents”; or

    • (b) if the sulphites are shown in a “Contains” statement, by one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents”.

  • (7) Sulphites that are shown in the list of ingredients under paragraph (6)(a) must be shown as follows:

    • (a) sulphites that are a component of an ingredient that is shown in the list of ingredients must be shown either in parentheses immediately after the ingredient or at the end of that list where they may be shown in any order with the other ingredients that are shown at the end of that list under subsection B.01.008(4);

    • (b) in all other cases, the sulphites must be shown at the end of the list of ingredients where they may be shown in any order with the other ingredients that are shown at the end of that list under subsection B.01.008(4).

  • (8) If sulphites are present in a prepackaged product in a total amount of 10 parts per million or more and any of them are required to be shown in the list of ingredients under section B.01.008 or B.01.009, in the case of sulphites shown individually by the name “sodium dithionite”, “sulphur dioxide” or “sulphurous acid”, that name must be followed, in parentheses, by one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents”.

  • (9) If the total amount of sulphites present in the prepackaged product is 10 parts per million or more, sulphites that are required to be shown in a list of ingredients under section B.01.008 or B.01.009 may also be shown on the label of the product in a “Contains” statement that complies with the requirements of subsection B.01.010.3(1).

  • (10) Despite subparagraph (6)(a)(ii) and subsection (8), if sulphites are shown individually in a list of ingredients, by the name “sodium dithionite”, “sulphur dioxide” or “sulphurous acid”, that name is not required to be followed, in parentheses, by one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents” if

    • (a) in the list of ingredients,

      • (i) the term “sulfite” or “sulphite” appears in the common name of another sulphite, or

      • (ii) one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents” is shown in parentheses following another sulphite; or

    • (b) one of the common names “sulfites”, “sulfiting agents”, “sulphites” or “sulphiting agents” is shown in a “Contains” statement on the label of the product.

  • SOR/2011-28, s. 4.
 
Date modified: