Constitution Acts, 1867 to 1982

IX. MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

General

 Repealed. (64)

Marginal note:Oath of Allegiance, etc.

 Every Member of the Senate or House of Commons of Canada shall before taking his Seat therein take and subscribe before the Governor General or some Person authorized by him, and every Member of a Legislative Council or Legislative Assembly of any Province shall before taking his Seat therein take and subscribe before the Lieutenant Governor of the Province or some Person authorized by him, the Oath of Allegiance contained in the Fifth Schedule to this Act; and every Member of the Senate of Canada and every Member of the Legislative Council of Quebec shall also, before taking his Seat therein, take and subscribe before the Governor General, or some Person authorized by him, the Declaration of Qualification contained in the same Schedule.

Marginal note:Continuance of existing Laws, Courts, Officers, etc.

 Except as otherwise provided by this Act, all Laws in force in Canada, Nova Scotia, or New Brunswick at the Union, and all Courts of Civil and Criminal Jurisdiction, and all legal Commissions, Powers, and Authorities, and all Officers, Judicial, Administrative, and Ministerial, existing therein at the Union, shall continue in Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia, and New Brunswick respectively, as if the Union had not been made; subject nevertheless (except with respect to such as are enacted by or exist under Acts of the Parliament of Great Britain or of the Parliament of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland,) to be repealed, abolished, or altered by the Parliament of Canada, or by the Legislature of the respective Province, according to the Authority of the Parliament or of that Legislature under this Act. (65)

Marginal note:Transfer of Officers to Canada

 Until the Parliament of Canada otherwise provides, all Officers of the several Provinces having Duties to discharge in relation to Matters other than those coming within the Classes of Subjects by this Act assigned exclusively to the Legislatures of the Provinces shall be Officers of Canada, and shall continue to discharge the Duties of their respective Offices under the same Liabilities, Responsibilities, and Penalties as if the Union had not been made. (66)

Marginal note:Appointment of new Officers

 Until the Parliament of Canada otherwise provides, the Governor General in Council may from Time to Time appoint such Officers as the Governor General in Council deems necessary or proper for the effectual Execution of this Act.

Marginal note:Treaty Obligations

 The Parliament and Government of Canada shall have all Powers necessary or proper for performing the Obligations of Canada or of any Province thereof, as Part of the British Empire, towards Foreign Countries, arising under Treaties between the Empire and such Foreign Countries.

Marginal note:Use of English and French Languages

 Either the English or the French Language may be used by any Person in the Debates of the Houses of the Parliament of Canada and of the Houses of the Legislature of Quebec; and both those Languages shall be used in the respective Records and Journals of those Houses; and either of those Languages may be used by any Person or in any Pleading or Process in or issuing from any Court of Canada established under this Act, and in or from all or any of the Courts of Quebec.

The Acts of the Parliament of Canada and of the Legislature of Quebec shall be printed and published in both those Languages. (67)

Ontario and Quebec

Marginal note:Appointment of Executive Officers for Ontario and Quebec

 Until the Legislature of Ontario or of Quebec otherwise provides, the Lieutenant Governors of Ontario and Quebec may each appoint under the Great Seal of the Province the following Officers, to hold Office during Pleasure, that is to say, — the Attorney General, the Secretary and Registrar of the Province, the Treasurer of the Province, the Commissioner of Crown Lands, and the Commissioner of Agriculture and Public Works, and in the Case of Quebec the Solicitor General, and may, by Order of the Lieutenant Governor in Council, from Time to Time prescribe the Duties of those Officers, and of the several Departments over which they shall preside or to which they shall belong, and of the Officers and Clerks thereof, and may also appoint other and additional Officers to hold Office during Pleasure, and may from Time to Time prescribe the Duties of those Officers, and of the several Departments over which they shall preside or to which they shall belong, and of the Officers and Clerks thereof. (68)

Marginal note:Powers, Duties, etc. of Executive Officers

 Until the Legislature of Ontario or Quebec otherwise provides, all Rights, Powers, Duties, Functions, Responsibilities, or Authorities at the passing of this Act vested in or imposed on the Attorney General, Solicitor General, Secretary and Registrar of the Province of Canada, Minister of Finance, Commissioner of Crown Lands, Commissioner of Public Works, and Minister of Agriculture and Receiver General, by any Law, Statute, or Ordinance of Upper Canada, Lower Canada, or Canada, and not repugnant to this Act, shall be vested in or imposed on any Officer to be appointed by the Lieutenant Governor for the Discharge of the same or any of them; and the Commissioner of Agriculture and Public Works shall perform the Duties and Functions of the Office of Minister of Agriculture at the passing of this Act imposed by the Law of the Province of Canada, as well as those of the Commissioner of Public Works. (69)

Marginal note:Great Seals

 Until altered by the Lieutenant Governor in Council, the Great Seals of Ontario and Quebec respectively shall be the same, or of the same Design, as those used in the Provinces of Upper Canada and Lower Canada respectively before their Union as the Province of Canada.

Marginal note:Construction of temporary Acts

 The words “and from thence to the End of the then next ensuing Session of the Legislature,” or Words to the same Effect, used in any temporary Act of the Province of Canada not expired before the Union, shall be construed to extend and apply to the next Session of the Parliament of Canada if the Subject Matter of the Act is within the Powers of the same as defined by this Act, or to the next Sessions of the Legislatures of Ontario and Quebec respectively if the Subject Matter of the Act is within the Powers of the same as defined by this Act.

Marginal note:As to Errors in Names

 From and after the Union the Use of the Words “Upper Canada” instead of “Ontario,” or “Lower Canada” instead of “Quebec,” in any Deed, Writ, Process, Pleading, Document, Matter, or Thing shall not invalidate the same.

Marginal note:As to issue of Proclamations before Union, to commence after Union

 Any Proclamation under the Great Seal of the Province of Canada issued before the Union to take effect at a Time which is subsequent to the Union, whether relating to that Province, or to Upper Canada, or to Lower Canada, and the several Matters and Things therein proclaimed, shall be and continue of like Force and Effect as if the Union had not been made. (70)

Marginal note:As to issue of Proclamations after Union

 Any Proclamation which is authorized by any Act of the Legislature of the Province of Canada to be issued under the Great Seal of the Province of Canada, whether relating to that Province, or to Upper Canada, or to Lower Canada, and which is not issued before the Union, may be issued by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario or of Quebec, as its Subject Matter requires, under the Great Seal thereof; and from and after the Issue of such Proclamation the same and the several Matters and Things therein proclaimed shall be and continue of the like Force and Effect in Ontario or Quebec as if the Union had not been made. (71)

Marginal note:Penitentiary

 The Penitentiary of the Province of Canada shall, until the Parliament of Canada otherwise provides, be and continue the Penitentiary of Ontario and of Quebec. (72)

Marginal note:Arbitration respecting Debts, etc.

 The Division and Adjustment of the Debts, Credits, Liabilities, Properties, and Assets of Upper Canada and Lower Canada shall be referred to the Arbitrament of Three Arbitrators, One chosen by the Government of Ontario, One by the Government of Quebec, and One by the Government of Canada; and the Selection of the Arbitrators shall not be made until the Parliament of Canada and the Legislatures of Ontario and Quebec have met; and the Arbitrator chosen by the Government of Canada shall not be a Resident either in Ontario or in Quebec. (73)

Marginal note:Division of Records

 The Governor General in Council may from Time to Time order that such and so many of the Records, Books, and Documents of the Province of Canada as he thinks fit shall be appropriated and delivered either to Ontario or to Quebec, and the same shall thenceforth be the Property of that Province; and any Copy thereof or Extract therefrom, duly certified by the Officer having charge of the Original thereof, shall be admitted as Evidence. (74)

Marginal note:Constitution of Townships in Quebec

 The Lieutenant Governor of Quebec may from Time to Time, by Proclamation under the Great Seal of the Province, to take effect from a Day to be appointed therein, constitute Townships in those Parts of the Province of Quebec in which Townships are not then already constituted, and fix the Metes and Bounds thereof.

Lois constitutionnelles de 1867 à 1982

IX. DISPOSITIONS DIVERSES

Dispositions Générales

 Abrogé. (64)

Note marginale :Serment d’allégeance, etc.

 Les membres du Sénat ou de la Chambre des Communes du Canada devront, avant d’entrer dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, prêter et souscrire, devant le gouverneur-général ou quelque personne à ce par lui autorisée, — et pareillement, les membres du conseil législatif ou de l’assemblée législative d’une province devront, avant d’entrer dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, prêter et souscrire, devant le lieutenant-gouverneur de la province ou quelque personne à ce par lui autorisée, — le serment d’allégeance énoncé dans la cinquième annexe de la présente loi; et les membres du Sénat du Canada et du conseil législatif de Québec devront aussi, avant d’entrer dans l’exercice de leurs fonctions, prêter et souscrire, devant le gouverneur-général ou quelque personne à ce par lui autorisée, la déclaration des qualifications énoncée dans la même annexe.

Note marginale :Les lois, tribunaux et fonctionnaires actuels continueront d’exister, etc.

 Sauf toute disposition contraire prescrite par la présente loi, — toutes les lois en force en Canada, dans la Nouvelle-Écosse ou le Nouveau-Brunswick, lors de l’union, — tous les tribunaux de juridiction civile et criminelle, — toutes les commissions, pouvoirs et autorités ayant force légale, — et tous les officiers judiciaires, administratifs et ministériels, en existence dans ces provinces à l’époque de l’union, continueront d’exister dans les provinces d’Ontario, de Québec, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et du Nouveau-Brunswick respectivement, comme si l’union n’avait pas eu lieu; mais ils pourront, néanmoins (sauf les cas prévus par des lois du parlement de la Grande-Bretagne ou du parlement du Royaume-Uni de la Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande), être révoqués, abolis ou modifiés par le parlement du Canada, ou par la législature de la province respective, conformément à l’autorité du parlement ou de cette législature en vertu de la présente loi. (65)

Note marginale :Fonctionnaires transférés au service du Canada

 Jusqu’à ce que le parlement du Canada en ordonne autrement, — tous les officiers des diverses provinces ayant à remplir des devoirs relatifs à des matières autres que celles tombant dans les catégories de sujets assignés exclusivement par la présente loi aux législatures des provinces, seront officiers du Canada et continueront à remplir les devoirs de leurs charges respectives sous les mêmes obligations et pénalités que si l’union n’avait pas eu lieu. (66)

Note marginale :Nomination des nouveaux officiers

 Jusqu’à ce que le parlement du Canada en ordonne autrement, — le gouverneur-général en conseil pourra de temps à autre nommer les officiers qu’il croira nécessaires ou utiles à l’exécution efficace de la présente loi.

Note marginale :Obligations naissant des traités

 Le parlement et le gouvernement du Canada auront tous les pouvoirs nécessaires pour remplir envers les pays étrangers, comme portion de l’empire Britannique, les obligations du Canada ou d’aucune de ses provinces, naissant de traités conclus entre l’empire et ces pays étrangers.

Note marginale :Usage facultatif et obligatoire des langues française et anglaise

 Dans les chambres du parlement du Canada et les chambres de la législature de Québec, l’usage de la langue française ou de la langue anglaise, dans les débats, sera facultatif; mais dans la rédaction des archives, procès-verbaux et journaux respectifs de ces chambres, l’usage de ces deux langues sera obligatoire; et dans toute plaidoirie ou pièce de procédure par-devant les tribunaux ou émanant des tribunaux du Canada qui seront établis sous l’autorité de la présente loi, et par-devant tous les tribunaux ou émanant des tribunaux de Québec, il pourra être fait également usage, à faculté, de l’une ou de l’autre de ces langues.

Les lois du parlement du Canada et de la législature de Québec devront être imprimées et publiées dans ces deux langues. (67)

Ontario et Québec

Note marginale :Nomination des fonctionnaires exécutifs pour Ontario et Québec

 Jusqu’à ce que la législature d’Ontario ou de Québec en ordonne autrement, — les lieutenants-gouverneurs d’Ontario et de Québec pourront, chacun, nommer sous le grand sceau de la province, les fonctionnaires suivants qui resteront en charge durant bon plaisir, savoir : le procureur-général, le secrétaire et régistraire de la province, le trésorier de la province, le commissaire des terres de la couronne, et le commissaire d’agriculture et des travaux publics, et, — en ce qui concerne Québec, — le solliciteur-général; ils pourront aussi, par ordonnance du lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil, prescrire de temps à autre les attributions de ces fonctionnaires et des divers départements placés sous leur contrôle ou dont ils relèvent, et des officiers et employés y attachés; et ils pourront également nommer d’autres fonctionnaires qui resteront en charge durant bon plaisir, et prescrire, de temps à autre, leurs attributions et celles des divers départements placés sous leur contrôle ou dont ils relèvent, et des officiers et employés y attachés. (68)

Note marginale :Pouvoirs, devoirs, etc., des fonctionnaires exécutifs

 Jusqu’à ce que la législature d’Ontario ou de Québec en ordonne autrement, — tous les droits, pouvoirs, devoirs, fonctions, obligations ou attributions conférés ou imposés aux procureur-général, solliciteur-général, secrétaire et régistraire de la province du Canada, ministre des finances, commissaire des terres de la couronne, commissaire des travaux publics, et ministre de l’agriculture et receveur-général, lors de la passation de la présente loi, par toute loi, statut ou ordonnance du Haut-Canada, du Bas-Canada ou du Canada, — n’étant pas d’ailleurs incompatibles avec la présente loi, — seront conférés ou imposés à tout fonctionnaire qui sera nommé par le lieutenant-gouverneur pour l’exécution de ces fonctions ou d’aucune d’elles; le commissaire d’agriculture et des travaux publics remplira les devoirs et les fonctions de ministre d’agriculture prescrits, lors de la passation de la présente loi, par la loi de la province du Canada, ainsi que ceux de commissaire des travaux publics. (69)

Note marginale :Grands sceaux

 Jusqu’à modification par le lieutenant-gouverneur en conseil, — les grands sceaux d’Ontario et de Québec respectivement seront les mêmes ou d’après le même modèle que ceux usités dans les provinces du Haut et du Bas-Canada respectivement avant leur union comme province du Canada.

Note marginale :Interprétation des lois temporaires

 Les mots « et de là jusqu’à la fin de la prochaine session de la législature », ou autres mots de la même teneur, employés dans une loi temporaire de la province du Canada non-expirée avant l’union, seront censés signifier la prochaine session du parlement du Canada, si l’objet de la loi tombe dans la catégorie des pouvoirs attribués à ce parlement et définis dans la présente constitution, si non, aux prochaines sessions des législatures d’Ontario et de Québec respectivement, si l’objet de la loi tombe dans la catégorie des pouvoirs attribués à ces législatures et définis dans la présente loi.

Note marginale :Citations erronées

 Depuis et après l’époque de l’union, l’insertion des mots « Haut-Canada » au lieu « d’Ontario », ou « Bas-Canada » au lieu de « Québec », dans tout acte, bref, procédure, plaidoirie, document, matière ou chose, n’aura pas l’effet de l’invalider.

Note marginale :Proclamations ne devant prendre effet qu’après l’union

 Toute proclamation sous le grand sceau de la province du Canada, lancée antérieurement à l’époque de l’union, pour avoir effet à une date postérieure à l’union, qu’elle ait trait à cette province ou au Haut-Canada ou au Bas-Canada, et les diverses matières et choses y énoncées auront et continueront d’y avoir la même force et le même effet que si l’union n’avait pas eu lieu. (70)

Note marginale :Proclamations lancées après l’union

 Toute proclamation dont l’émission sous le grand sceau de la province du Canada est autorisée par quelque loi de la législature de la province du Canada, — qu’elle ait trait à cette province ou au Haut-Canada ou au Bas-Canada, — et qui n’aura pas été lancée avant l’époque de l’union, pourra l’être par le lieutenant-gouverneur d’Ontario ou de Québec (selon le cas), sous le grand sceau de la province; et, à compter de l’émission de cette proclamation, les diverses matières et choses y énoncées auront et continueront d’avoir la même force et le même effet dans Ontario ou Québec que si l’union n’avait pas eu lieu. (71)

Note marginale :Pénitencier

 Le pénitencier de la province du Canada, jusqu’à ce que le parlement du Canada en ordonne autrement, sera et continuera d’être le pénitencier d’Ontario et de Québec. (72)

Note marginale :Dettes renvoyées à l’arbitrage

 Le partage et la répartition des dettes, crédits, obligations, propriétés et de l’actif du Haut et du Bas-Canada seront renvoyés à la décision de trois arbitres, dont l’un sera choisi par le gouvernement d’Ontario, l’un par le gouvernement de Québec, et l’autre par le gouvernement du Canada; le choix des arbitres n’aura lieu qu’après que le parlement du Canada et les législatures d’Ontario et de Québec auront été réunis; l’arbitre choisi par le gouvernement du Canada ne devra être domicilié ni dans Ontario ni dans Québec. (73)

Note marginale :Partage des archives

 Le gouverneur-général en conseil pourra de temps à autre ordonner que les archives, livres et documents de la province du Canada qu’il jugera à propos de désigner, soient remis et transférés à Ontario ou à Québec, et ils deviendront dès lors la propriété de cette province; toute copie ou extrait de ces documents, dûment certifiée par l’officier ayant la garde des originaux, sera reçue comme preuve. (74)

Note marginale :Établissement de townships dans Québec

 Le lieutenant-gouverneur de Québec pourra, de temps à autre, par proclamation sous le grand sceau de la province devant venir en force au jour y mentionné, établir des townships dans les parties de la province de Québec dans lesquelles il n’en a pas encore été établi, et en fixer les tenants et aboutissants.