Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Canada Elections Act

Version of section 525 from 2003-07-02 to 2014-06-18:

Marginal note:Competent courts

  •  (1) The following courts are competent courts for the purposes of this Part:

    • (a) a court listed in subsection (2) that has jurisdiction in all or part of the electoral district in question; and

    • (b) the Federal Court.

  • Marginal note:Courts

    (2) For the purposes of paragraph (1)(a), the courts are

    • (a) in the Province of Ontario, the Superior Court of Justice;

    • (b) in the Province of Quebec, the Superior Court;

    • (c) in the Provinces of Nova Scotia and British Columbia, Yukon and the Northwest Territories, the Supreme Court;

    • (d) in the Provinces of New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, the Court of Queen’s Bench;

    • (e) in the Provinces of Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland, the Trial Division of the Supreme Court; and

    • (f) in Nunavut, the Nunavut Court of Justice.

  • Marginal note:Rules of procedure

    (3) An application shall be dealt with without delay and in a summary way. The court may, however, allow oral evidence to be given at the hearing of the application in specific circumstances.

  • 2000, c. 9, s. 525
  • 2002, c. 7, s. 94(E), c. 8, s. 117

Date modified: