Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Official Languages Act

Version of section 34 from 2023-06-20 to 2024-06-19:

Marginal note:Rights relating to language of work

  •  (1) English and French are the languages of work in all federal institutions, and employees of all federal institutions have the right to use either official language in accordance with this Part.

  • Marginal note:Deputy ministers and associate deputy ministers

    (2) A person appointed by the Governor in Council to the position of deputy minister or associate deputy minister or a position of an equivalent rank in a department named in Schedule I to the Financial Administration Act shall, on their appointment, take the language training that is necessary to be able to speak and understand clearly both official languages.

  • R.S., 1985, c. 31 (4th Supp.), s. 34
  • 2023, c. 15, s. 14

Date modified: