Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Civil Marriage Act

Version of section 6 from 2013-08-14 to 2022-07-25:

Definition of court

 In this Part, court, in respect of a province, means

  • (a) for Ontario, the Superior Court of Justice;

  • (b) for Quebec, the Superior Court;

  • (c) for Nova Scotia and British Columbia, the Supreme Court of the province;

  • (d) for New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, the Court of Queen’s Bench for the province;

  • (e) for Prince Edward Island and Newfoundland and Labrador, the trial division of the Supreme Court of the province; and

  • (f) for Yukon and the Northwest Territories, the Supreme Court, and in Nunavut, the Nunavut Court of Justice.

It also means any other court in the province whose judges are appointed by the Governor General and that is designated by the Lieutenant Governor in Council of the province as a court for the purposes of this Part.

  • 2005, c. 33, s. 6
  • 2013, c. 30, s. 4
Date modified: