Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Royal Canadian Mounted Police Act

Version of section 6 from 2014-11-28 to 2023-01-25:

Marginal note:Other officers

  •  (1) The officers of the Force, in addition to the Commissioner, shall consist of

    • (a) Deputy Commissioners,

    • (b) Assistant Commissioners,

    • (c) Chief Superintendents,

    • (d) Superintendents,

    • (e) Inspectors,

    • (f) [Repealed, R.S., 1985, c. 8 (2nd Supp.), s. 3]

    and such other ranks as are prescribed by the Governor in Council.

  • Marginal note:Maximum number

    (2) The maximum number of officers in each rank shall be as prescribed by the Treasury Board.

  • Marginal note:Appointment of Deputy Commissioners

    (3) The Governor in Council may appoint any person to the rank of Deputy Commissioner to hold office during pleasure.

  • Marginal note:Appointment of other officers

    (4) The Commissioner may appoint any person to any other rank of officer and, by way of promotion, appoint an officer to a higher rank, other than to the rank of Deputy Commissioner.

  • Marginal note:Commissions

    (5) The Governor in Council may authorize the issue of a commission under the Great Seal to an officer on the officer’s first appointment to the rank of an officer or on the recommendation of the Commissioner.

  • R.S., 1985, c. R-10, s. 6
  • R.S., 1985, c. 8 (2nd Supp.), ss. 3, 24(E)
  • 2013, c. 18, s. 5
Date modified: