Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Regulations Defining “EU country or other CETA beneficiary” (SOR/2017-178)

Regulations are current to 2024-04-01 and last amended on 2021-01-01. Previous Versions

Regulations Defining “EU country or other CETA beneficiary”



Registration 2017-09-01

Regulations Defining “EU country or other CETA beneficiary”

P.C. 2017-1127 2017-08-31

His Excellency the Governor General in Council, on the recommendation of the Minister of Finance, pursuant to section 49.9Footnote a of the Customs TariffFootnote b, makes the annexed Regulations Defining EU country or other CETA beneficiary.


 For the purposes of the Customs Tariff, EU country or other CETA beneficiary means a country or territory set out in the schedule to these Regulations.

Coming into Force

Footnote * These Regulations come into force on the day on which section 97 of the Canada–European Union Comprehensive Economic and Trade Agreement Implementation Act, chapter 6 of the Statutes of Canada, 2017, comes into force, but if they are registered after that day, they come into force on the day on which they are registered.

SCHEDULE(Section 1)

  • Andorra
  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus, including the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark, excluding the Faroe Islands and Greenland
  • Estonia
  • Finland, including the Åland Islands
  • France, including French Guiana, Guadeloupe, Martinique, Mayotte, Réunion, Saint Barthélemy and Saint Martin, and excluding French Polynesia, the French Southern and Antarctic Territories, New Caledonia and Dependencies, Saint Pierre and Miquelon and the Wallis and Futuna Islands
  • Germany, including the island of Heligoland and the territory of Büsingen
  • Greece, including Mount Athos
  • Hungary
  • Ireland
  • Italy, including the municipalities of Livigno and Campione d’Italia and the Italian waters of Lake Lugano
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Netherlands, excluding Aruba, Curaçao, Sint Maarten and Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba
  • Poland
  • Portugal, including the Azores and Madeira
  • Romania
  • San Marino
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain, including Ceuta and Melilla and the Canary Islands
  • Sweden

Date modified: