New Layout for Legislation

As part of ongoing efforts to improve access to justice for Canadians, the print and PDF versions of federal legislation have been given a new appearance effective January 2016. The new layout does not change the wording or meaning of the legislation, but does make it more user-friendly and easier to read.

What’s new?

Overall, the design is more modern and clean; the new appearance includes the following changes:

Longer lines

While the French and English versions are still side-by-side, the lines in each column are longer, with more space between them. This change brings the layout of legislative text into compliance with current best practices in document design. To achieve this longer line, all the text that was previously in the right and left margins has been moved into the body of the text.

Use of different fonts

Different styles and sizes of fonts are used to give greater prominence to certain elements and to help direct readers’ eyes more easily through the text. The structure of the legislative text (headings, sections, subsections, paragraphs, etc.) has been made more evident in order to improve readability.

Because headings and sub-headings are larger, they are more noticeable, helping readers to find the information they are looking for, and their sans-serif font helps draw the eye down to the body of the text.

The use of a font with a serif for the denser body of the text helps draw the eye along the length of each line and helps readers distinguish similarly-shaped letters.

Information at the top of the page

Information now appears in the header to help readers orient themselves within the text. The header for a given page contains the title of the text that is being consulted, the titles of the Parts of the text, if any, and the provisions on that page.

Why was it changed?

The layout of federal legislation had not been modified since 1969, after the adoption of the Official Languages Act. At that time, the government of the day decided that the English and French versions of all federal laws had to appear side-by-side.

In those days, typewriters and other tools used for formatting text offered many fewer options for font styles and sizes, making it difficult to give any particular part of a document more prominence. Also, since the font used was relatively small, the overall effect was to create documents that appeared dense and cluttered. This, in turn, made laws that were difficult for many people to read, particularly the visually impaired.

Since then, much has been learned about how page layout affects the readability of documents. At the same time, advances in computer technology have made it easier to apply that knowledge when designing the layout.

In developing the new layout, Department of Justice officials referred to best practices and consulted with experts in the field of document design to ensure that the end result would be as user-friendly as possible.

Date modified:

Nouvelle mise en page des textes législatifs

Dans le cadre des efforts continus d’amélioration de l’accès à la justice pour les Canadiens, les versions imprimées et PDF des lois et règlements fédéraux ont un nouvel aspect depuis janvier 2016. La nouvelle mise en page ne modifie pas l’énoncé ni la signification des dispositions législatives, mais elle est plus conviviale et facilite la lecture.

Quoi de neuf?

Globalement, la conception est plus moderne, plus nette, et la présentation reflète notamment les changements suivants :

Lignes plus longues

Les versions française et anglaise sont toujours côte à côte, mais les lignes de chaque colonne sont plus longues et plus espacées. Grâce à ce changement, la mise en page du texte législatif est conforme aux pratiques exemplaires actuelles dans la conception des documents. Pour allonger ainsi les lignes, on a déplacé dans le corps du texte tous les éléments textuels qui se trouvaient auparavant dans les marges de droite et de gauche.

Utilisation de polices de caractères différentes

Des styles et des tailles de polices de caractères différents sont utilisés pour mettre en relief certains éléments et pour guider les yeux des lecteurs au long du texte. La structure du texte législatif (en-têtes, articles, paragraphes, alinéas, etc.) a été mise en évidence pour améliorer la lisibilité.

Les titres et les sous-titres sont plus gros et plus visibles, ce qui aide les lecteurs à trouver l’information qu’ils cherchent. Leur police de caractères sans empattements attire l’œil vers le corps du texte.

Le recours à une police de caractère à empattements pour la partie plus dense du corps du texte attire l’œil le long de chaque ligne et aide les lecteurs à distinguer les lettres de formes semblables.

Information en haut de page

Davantage d’information est maintenant affichée dans l’en-tête pour orienter les lecteurs dans le texte. L’en-tête d’une page donnée contient le titre du texte consulté, le titre des parties du texte, le cas échéant, et les dispositions qui apparaissent sur cette page.

Pourquoi ces changements?

La mise en page des textes législatifs fédéraux n’aurait pas été modifiée depuis 1969, soit depuis l’adoption de la Loi sur les langues officielles. Le gouvernement de l’époque avait décidé que les versions anglaise et française de toutes les lois fédérales devaient être disposées côte à côte.

À cette époque, les machines à écrire et autres outils utilisés pour formater des textes offraient beaucoup moins d’options en fait de styles et de tailles de polices, ce qui rendait difficile la mise en relief d’une partie spécifique d’un document. Comme la police employée était relativement petite, le document paraissait dense et encombré. Cela rendait les lois plus difficiles à lire pour de nombreuses personnes, notamment les personnes ayant une déficience visuelle.

Depuis lors, on a beaucoup appris sur la façon dont la mise en page influence la lisibilité des documents. Par ailleurs, la technologie informatique a facilité l’application de ces connaissances à la conception de la mise en page.

Pour élaborer la nouvelle mise en page, les fonctionnaires du ministère de la Justice se sont inspirés des pratiques exemplaires et ont consulté des experts du domaine de la conception de documents afin que le résultat final soit aussi convivial que possible.

Date de modification :