Government of Canada / Gouvernement du Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada


Electoral Boundaries Readjustment Act (R.S.C., 1985, c. E-3)

Act current to 2023-09-19 and last amended on 2019-01-19. Previous Versions

General (continued)

Marginal note:Provision for expenses

  •  (1) All amounts required for the payment of salaries and other expenses under this Act, including expenses of administration, shall be taxed by the Chief Electoral Officer and paid out of the Consolidated Revenue Fund under the authority of this section.

  • Marginal note:Casual or temporary employees

    (2) Such additional officers, clerks and employees as the Chief Electoral Officer considers necessary for the purpose of enabling him to exercise the powers and perform the duties of the Chief Electoral Officer under this Act may be employed, in the manner authorized by the Public Service Employment Act, on a casual or temporary basis.

  • R.S., c. E-2, s. 28
  • 1978-79, c. 13, s. 25

Marginal note:Territorial electoral districts

 In each of Yukon, the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, there shall be one electoral district respectively named and described as follows, each of which shall return one member:

Yukon: consisting of Yukon as bounded and described in Schedule 1 to the Yukon Act.

Northwest Territories: consisting of the Northwest Territories as bounded and described in the definition Northwest Territories in section 2 of the Northwest Territories Act.

Nunavut: consisting of Nunavut as bounded and described in section 3 of the Nunavut Act.

  • R.S., 1985, c. E-3, s. 30
  • 1993, c. 28, s. 78
  • 1998, c. 15, s. 25
  • 2014, c. 2, s. 8, c. 19, s. 32
Date modified: